2016 – Teams

Team lineups still subject to a little change but likely to be the below:

Chairman’s Choice: David Burn, Michael Byrne, Heather Dhondy, Kieran Dyke, Gillian Fawcett, Joe Fawcett

de Botton: Thomas Charlsen,Janet de Botton, Geir Helgemo, Thor-Erik Hoftaniska, Nick Sandqvist, Tom Townsend

Gillis: Boye Brogeland, Espen Erichsen, Simon Gillis, Espen Lindqvist

England Open: Alexander Allfrey, David Bakhshi, Tony Forrester, David Gold, Andrew Robson

England Seniors: Paul Hackett, Gunnar Hallberg, John Holland, David Mossop, David Price, Colin Simpson

Ireland: Rory Boland, John Carroll, Tommy Garvey, Tom Hanlon, Mark Moran

London: Andy Bowles, Rob Cliffe, John Howard, Barry Myers, Mike Scoltock, Frank To

President’s Team: Willie Coyle, Stelio di Bello, Phil King, Graham Orsmond, Victor Silverstone, Bernard Teltscher

Spring Fours: Jeffrey Allerton,Jon Cooke, Frances Hinden, Graham Osborne

Zia and Friends: Dennis Bilde, Simon Cope, Peter Crouch, Anita Sinclair, Zia

2015 – Some of the players

2015 – Some of the workers and lurkers

2015 – Lederer scoring

The Lederer scoring is interesting. It’s similar to that used in the Pachabo event held in England and the qualifiers for same.

Matches are scored using a combination of IMPS and Point a Board methods. The results are separately converted into Victory Points (VPs).

Every board gets scored along the usual IMPS scale used for teams. All the IMPs are added up. Some of the VPs are allocated for the number of IMPS a team wins by (15/15 for a draw up to 30/0 for a win of 45+ IMPs over 9 boards).

Then every board is scored again using an alternative method called Point a Board. The rest of the VPs are allocated using these scores. For each board a team gets 1 VP for a draw and 2 VPs for a win (18 in total for 9 boards).

Thus there are a total of 48 VPs for a match – 30 from the IMPs scoring and 18 from the Point a Board – to be shared between the two teams.

So players need to bid and make their games and be mindful of overtricks and undertricks. Very fiendish.

The PDF here gives more detail: 2015 Display – Scoring